jump to navigation

Hello, World! November 21, 2008

Posted by Tatyana Malysh in Uncategorized.
trackback

 

       The word “mathematics” raises very various emotions. Unfortunately, most people will rather make a face than feel curiosity and excitement.  They will call it isolated, inhuman, boring, useless, unbearablehopeless, terrifying!  OK!  I have to admit that there are some wild beasts in the math woods, and even some scary skeletons in the closets. But I promise, I do, you will not meet any of these on this blog! So, those of you who just accidently clicked on this site, please, please, do not run away! Especially, those of you who are not “math persons” do not elope because I want to tell you something. I think, you feel so bad because you don’t know her. You, probably, have never been properly introduced to her. Let me try to 1197434378695056925romanov_dark_lady_svg_med2start it over. Please,

Allow me present to you

her Majesty the Mathematics. 

   Oh, my! I feel so biased, but I can’t help it. There is so much feminine in it. She is expected and unpredictable, simple and enigmatic, reliant and independent, not to mention her beauty. You never know how young she is, and she always surrounded by men. You must give her chance to capture you because it’s such a pleasure!  

 

 

Comments»

1. Jim Bogesvang - November 26, 2008

Tatyana,
Great blog! I feel better about math already!
How do you come up with so many interesting ideas and observations about math an education? For example, the genesis of the word math and, in class, you often raise cultural insights. Wherever you went to school (was it Israel?), they did a good job.
How’d you find WordPress? I see that both you and Chanhee are using it. It looks great. What do you like/dislike about it? I went with an old standard (Blogger) because I also use other Google products.
Keep up the good work.
Jim

2. chanheeh - November 29, 2008

I’ve never heard about wordpress.com before Tatyana let me know. Thanks to Tatyana, I could join “our math team” and got to know how to make my own blog. However, I am still struggling with the trackback and ping. If you, Jim and Tatyana have some time, please teach me how to use ping or trackback.
This is my blog -> Chanhee’s Blog

3. chanheeh - November 29, 2008

Oops! I put the wrong url. This is my blog -> Chanhee’s Blog
I hope this time I put the right one. ^^


Leave a comment